Welcome to the RSL Cup blog

I've been a fan of Real Salt Lake since it joined MLS and took to the field in 2005, and I've been a fan of MLS since it began in 1996. Lately however I've started to worry about the path MLS is taking and the poor decisions they are making that in my mind threaten the growth of soccer as a whole in the US. (see "Columbus conspiracy" section) Soccer in America will grow only when we have a vibrant and diverse minor league system, something that MLS seems to be smothering at the moment. (see "American soccer wars" section) Let's keep our eyes on the situation and hope for the best, a future where grass-roots soccer and the minor leagues can not only exist but flourish, as well as where the contributions and history of the league's early clubs are appreciated and preserved.

Friday, June 24, 2011

Crew take undisputed 2009 Super Cup

Columbus Crew Win 2008 MLS Cup

(by asn staff americansoccernews.net 11-23-08)

Major League Soccer’s newly-crowned MVP was front and center at the league’s showpiece game at Home Depot Center Sunday afternoon, as the Columbus Crew beat the New York Red Bulls to win MLS Cup 2008. The man in question, Guillermo Barros Schelotto, set up all three Columbus goals to win his team its first MLS Cup.

With the victory, Columbus becomes the first Supporters’ Shield winner to capture the elusive ‘double’ since the LA Galaxy in 2002. It is the fifth time in 13 years that the Supporters’ Shield champions have won MLS Cup after DC United (1996, 1997), Kansas City (2000) and the Galaxy six years ago.

Chad Marshall’s winning goal came off a Columbus corner kick just 87 seconds after John Wolyniec had equalized for New York. Previously, Columbus forward Alejandro Moreno opened the scoring in the 31st minute.

Schelotto nearly added to his tally in the 76th minute, shooting the ball off the crossbar. Red Bulls goalkeeper Danny Cepero was beaten on the shot, which almost definitely would have decided the game in Columbus’ favor had it gone in.

Instead, the deciding goal came five minutes later. Frankie Hejduk headed it over Cepero to give Columbus a 3-1 lead that stood until the final whistle.

New York dominated the game for much of the first half, particularly the first 30 minutes. But John Wolyniec (13th minute), Dane Richards (22′), Kevin Goldthwaite (18′) and Juan Pablo Angel (29′) were unable to find the net. Moreno’s breakaway goal appeared to take the wind out of the Red Bulls’ sails.


No comments:

Post a Comment